Alaia Bay_Parasurf

Para Surfing / Adaptive Surfing

WHAT IS PARA SURFING?

Para surfing (or also called adaptive surfing) is an adapted form of surfing that allows people with disabilities to ride waves with a surfboard.

The word “Para” comes from Paralympic.

Alaia Bay - PARASURF 2

ALAÏA’S VISION

Alaïa’s aim is to enable all people to surf, regardless of their condition. Our goal is to pass on our passion for surfing to anyone who is motivated to try an action sport like surfing and to have fun while doing it.

Alaia Bay - PARASURF 3

COACHING

Some members of the Alaïa’s surf coaches team have been specially trained to enable them to supervise the practice of Para Surf. When a Para Surf session is organised, a preparatory meeting (phone call or meeting in person) is organised before the surf session (generally between 1 month and 3 weeks in advance) to identify the challenges and understand the particular needs that this session represents. Indeed, the objective is to be able to anticipate and provide an unforgettable experience to the Para Surfer, as well as a tailormade coaching according to the situation of each practitioner.

Alaia Bay - PARASURF 4

INCLUSION

The inclusive approach is also very important to us. Depending on the type of disability, we evaluate with the surf coaches the feasibility of including including the Para Surfers with valid people as much as possible while respecting the safety rules.

Alaia Bay - PARASURF 5

THE ADVANTAGE OF THE WAVE POOL

Practice Para Surfing in a wave pool is a real advantage for Para Surfers. The wave pool allows to ride waves in a secure, delimited, safe and controlled environment. Indeed, we have the possibility to control several parameters (wave size, frequency and number of waves per session). For beginners, it allows an easy learning in the best conditions with small and consistent waves. It also allows more experienced surfers to progress more quickly and to train more independently than in the ocean.

Alaia Bay - PARASURF 6

EQUIPMENT & INFRASTRUCTURE

Depending on the type of disability, we strive to provide the most suitable Para Surfing equipment so that Para Surfers can enjoy the surfing experience with the greatest possible comfort and safety. Our goal is to make surfing easy for them.

 

We are equipped with a beach wheelchair (also known as a « tiralo ») to make it easier for certain types of disabilities to get into the water. The Alaïa Bay building is easily accessible to people with reduced mobility (access ramp). A lift provides easy access to the restaurant and the terrace. The sanitary facilities (toilets and showers) are adapted for people with impaired mobility.

Alaia Bay - PARASURF 7

PARA SURFING AT ALAÏA BAY

Up to now, several Para Surfing sessions have been organised at Alaïa Bay. This desire to welcome people with disabilities has been initiated since the opening of Alaïa Bay in May 2021 by personal initiatives of our surf instructors. We wish to continue and perpetuate this approach which is close to our hearts and which echoes the mission that Alaïa has set itself.

 

Our instructor Simon Plachtzik also regularly organises sign language sessions in Swiss-German (DSGS).

 

If you would like more information about Para Surfing/Adaptive Surfing, please send an email to: parasports@alaia.ch

GUIDE DOG

Unfortunately, dogs are not allowed at Alaïa Bay. However, for people accompanied by a guide dog, access to the building (reception, store, restaurant, terrace) is authorized.

It will not be possible to access the pool area or changing rooms with the dog.There is a dedicated area where our four-legged friends can rest while surfing !

It’s important to bring someone with you to help you get dressed and move around. Our trained instructors will then take over and take care of the pedagogical and aquatic aspects. Please let our team know if you are coming with a dog. This will enable them to prepare to welcome you in the best possible conditions.

PRIX SOMMET UBS

We are very proud to participate this year in the Prix Sommet initiated by UBS. Since 1986, the Prix Sommet has been celebrating the dynamism, innovation, creativity and sustainability of Valais companies. As a challenger, we set ourselves the challenge of refining and sustaining the concept of inclusion by making action sports easier for people with disabilities. This challenge echoes our vision – to make action sports accessible to all (regardless of age and condition) and to share our passion with as many people as possible.

Vote for us during the live broadcast on Canal9 on 10 November at 8pm!

LOGO-PRIX-SOMMET

SECURE YOUR SESSION !

ALAÏA BAY IS ALSO ABOUT

TWIN FIN RESTAURANT

Located on the second floor of the facility, the Twin Fin has a surface of 300m2 and a terrace of 400m2 and gives the possibility to watch surfers in full action. Open 7/7 all year with free access, the food makes you travel from one continent to another while giving pride of place to Swiss products.

BOARDRIDERS SHOP

A world-class surf shop in the heart of the Alps. Alaïa Bay features a Boardriders Store with products from Quiksilver, ROXY and more along with a deep range of boards and hardware from the best surf manufacturers on the planet.

ANY QUESTIONS?

Check out our answers to the most frequently asked questions online!

This error message is only visible to WordPress admins

Error: API requests are being delayed. New posts will not be retrieved for at least 5 minutes.

STAY CONNECTED

Alaïa Bay Switzerland – Surf the Swiss Alps!

Alaia Bay_Parasurf

Para Surfing / Handi Surf

WAS IST PARA SURFING?

Para Surfing (oder auch Handi Surfing) ist eine angepasste Form des Surfens, die es Menschen mit Behinderungen ermöglicht, mit einem Surfbrett auf den Wellen zu reiten.

Wort „Para“ kommt von paralympisch.

Alaia Bay - PARASURF 2

DIE VISION VON ALAÏA

Alaïa hat den Wunsch, jedem Menschen das Surfen zu ermöglichen, unabhängig von seiner Kondition. Unser Ziel ist es, unsere Leidenschaft für das Surfen an jeden weiterzugeben, der motiviert ist, einen Action-Sport wie das Surfen auszuprobieren und dabei Spaß zu haben.

Alaia Bay - PARASURF 3

BETREUUNG

Ein Teil des Teams der Surfcoaches von Alaïa wurde speziell ausgebildet, um die Betreuung von Para-Surfen zu ermöglichen. Wenn ein Para-Surf-Betreuung organisiert wird, findet vor der Surfsession eine vorbereitende Sitzung statt (normalerweise zwischen einem Monat und drei Wochen im Voraus), um die Herausforderungen bestmöglich zu identifizieren und die besonderen Bedürfnisse, die damit verbunden sind, zu verstehen. Denn das Ziel ist es, vorausschauend handeln zu können und dem Para-Surfer ein unvergessliches Erlebnis zu bieten, sowie eine Betreuung, die von Fall zu Fall auf die Situation des jeweiligen Surfers abgestimmt ist.

Alaia Bay - PARASURF 4

INKLUSION

Darüber hinaus ist uns auch der integrative Ansatz sehr wichtig. Je nach Art der Behinderung beurteilen wir gemeinsam mit dem Surfcoach-Team, ob es möglich ist, Para-Surfer möglichst gemeinsam mit nichtbehinderten Personen unter größtmöglicher Beachtung der Sicherheitsvorschriften zu unterrichten.

Alaia Bay - PARASURF 5

DER VORTEIL DES WAVEPOOLS

Die Tatsache, dass wir einen Para-Surf-Empfang in einem Wavepool anbieten können, ist ein echter Vorteil für Para-Surfer. Denn der Wavepool ermöglicht das Surfen in einer gesicherten, abgegrenzten, sicheren und kontrollierten Umgebung. Tatsächlich haben wir die Möglichkeit, mehrere Parameter zu kontrollieren (die Größe der Wellen, die Frequenz und die Anzahl der Wellen pro Session). Für Para-Surf-Anfänger ermöglicht sie ein einfaches Lernen unter den besten Bedingungen mit konstanten kleinen Wellen. Sie ermöglicht es auch erfahreneren Surfern, schneller Fortschritte zu machen und unabhängiger als im Ozean zu trainieren.

Alaia Bay - PARASURF 6

AUSRÜSTUNG & INFRASTRUKTUR

Je nach Art der Behinderung bemühen wir uns, die am besten geeignete Para-Surf-Ausrüstung bereitzustellen, damit die Para-Surfer das Surferlebnis mit dem größtmöglichen Komfort und der größtmöglichen Sicherheit genießen können. Unser Ziel ist es, dass ihnen das Surfen leicht gemacht wird.

 

Wir sind mit einem Strandrollstuhl ausgestattet, um bestimmten Arten von Behinderungen den Einstieg ins Wasser zu erleichtern. Das Gebäude der Alaïa Bay ist für Menschen mit eingeschränkter Mobilität leicht zugänglich (Rampe). Ein Aufzug ermöglicht einen einfachen Zugang zum Restaurant und zur Terrasse. Die sanitären Anlagen (Toiletten und Duschen) sind für Menschen mit eingeschränkter Mobilität geeignet.

Alaia Bay - PARASURF 7

EMPFANG FÜR PARASURFER IN DER ALAÏA BAY

Bisher wurden in der Alaïa Bay bereits mehrere Parasurfing-Empfänge organisiert. Dieser Wunsch, Menschen mit Behinderungen aufnehmen zu können, wurde seit der Eröffnung von Alaïa Bay im Mai 2021 durch persönliche Initiativen unserer Surfcoaches initiiert. Wir möchten diese Initiative, die uns sehr am Herzen liegt und die der Vision von Alaïa entspricht, fortsetzen und dauerhaft etablieren.

 

Unser Surflehrer Simon Plachtzik organisiert auch regelmäßig Kurse in der Deutsch-Schweizerischen Gebärdensprache (DSGS).

 

Wenn Sie weitere Informationen über die Para Surfing wünschen, senden Sie bitte eine E-Mail an: parasports@alaia.ch

BEGLEITHUND

Leider sind Hunde in der Alaïa Bay nicht erlaubt. Personen, die von einem Blindenhund begleitet werden, dürfen diesen jedoch auf dem Gelände des Gebäudes (Rezeption, Laden, Restaurant, Terrasse) mitführen.

Es wird nicht möglich sein, mit dem Hund in die Nähe des Schwimmbeckens oder in die Umkleidekabinen zu gehen. Es gibt einen eigenen Bereich, damit sich unser vierbeiniger Freund während des Surfens ausruhen kann! Es ist wichtig, dass Sie in Begleitung einer Person kommen, die Ihnen beim Anziehen und Bewegen helfen kann.

Unsere ausgebildeten Surflehrer übernehmen dann den pädagogischen und wasserbezogenen Teil. Bitte informieren Sie unser Team, wenn Sie einen Hund mitbringen. Das Team kann sich dann darauf vorbereiten, Sie unter den besten Bedingungen zu empfangen.

PRIX SOMMET UBS

Wir sind sehr stolz darauf, dieses Jahr am von UBS initiierten Prix Sommet teilzunehmen. Seit 1986 feiert der Prix Sommet die Dynamik, die Innovation, die Kreativität und die Nachhaltigkeit der Walliser Unternehmen. Als Herausforderer haben wir uns der Herausforderung gestellt, das Konzept der Inklusion zu verfeinern und nachhaltig zu gestalten, indem wir Menschen mit Behinderungen die Ausübung von Actionsportarten erleichtern. Diese Herausforderung entspricht unserer Vision – den Actionsport für alle (unabhängig von Alter und Kondition) zugänglich zu machen und unsere Leidenschaft an so viele Menschen wie möglich weiterzugeben.

Stimmen Sie für uns in der Live-Sendung auf Canal9 am 10. November um 20 Uhr!

Logo Prix Sommet

RESERVIERE DEINE SESSION!

IN DER ALAÏA BAY FINDEST DU AUCH

Alaia Bay TwinFin Restaurant Interior

TWIN FIN RESTAURANT

Das Twin Fin befindet sich im zweiten Stock der Alaïa Bay und hat eine Fläche von 300m2 und eine Terrasse von 400m2 und bietet die Möglichkeit, die Surfer in voller Aktion zu beobachten. Das Restaurant ist für alle geöffnet und gratis zugänglich. Die vielseitigen Gerichte lassen dich von einem Kontinent zum anderen reisen. Gekocht wird mit lokalen Produkten.

Alaia Bay Board Riders Surf Shop entrance

BOARDRIDERS SHOP

Ein Weltklasse-Surfshop im Herzen der Alpen. Alaïa Bay verfügt über einen Boardriders Store mit Produkten von Quiksilver, ROXY und weiteren coolen Marken, sowie einer grossen Auswahl an Boards und Hardware von den besten Surfherstellern des Planeten.

FRAGEN?

Finde hier unsere FAQ Rubrik!

Alaia Bay Hashtag Surf The Alps

BLEIB INFORMIERT UND FOLGE UNS!

Alaia Bay Sion – Surf The Swiss Alps!