Alaia Bay_Parasurf

Para Surfing / Adaptive Surfing

WHAT IS PARA SURFING?

Para surfing (or also called adaptive surfing) is an adapted form of surfing that allows people with disabilities to ride waves with a surfboard.

The word “Para” comes from Paralympic.

Alaia Bay - PARASURF 2

ALAÏA’S VISION

Alaïa’s aim is to enable all people to surf, regardless of their condition. Our goal is to pass on our passion for surfing to anyone who is motivated to try an action sport like surfing and to have fun while doing it.

Alaia Bay - PARASURF 3

COACHING

Some members of the Alaïa’s surf coaches team have been specially trained to enable them to supervise the practice of Para Surf. When a Para Surf session is organised, a preparatory meeting (phone call or meeting in person) is organised before the surf session (generally between 1 month and 3 weeks in advance) to identify the challenges and understand the particular needs that this session represents. Indeed, the objective is to be able to anticipate and provide an unforgettable experience to the Para Surfer, as well as a tailormade coaching according to the situation of each practitioner.

Alaia Bay - PARASURF 4

INCLUSION

The inclusive approach is also very important to us. Depending on the type of disability, we evaluate with the surf coaches the feasibility of including including the Para Surfers with valid people as much as possible while respecting the safety rules.

Alaia Bay - PARASURF 5

THE ADVANTAGE OF THE WAVE POOL

Practice Para Surfing in a wave pool is a real advantage for Para Surfers. The wave pool allows to ride waves in a secure, delimited, safe and controlled environment. Indeed, we have the possibility to control several parameters (wave size, frequency and number of waves per session). For beginners, it allows an easy learning in the best conditions with small and consistent waves. It also allows more experienced surfers to progress more quickly and to train more independently than in the ocean.

Alaia Bay - PARASURF 6

EQUIPMENT & INFRASTRUCTURE

Depending on the type of disability, we strive to provide the most suitable Para Surfing equipment so that Para Surfers can enjoy the surfing experience with the greatest possible comfort and safety. Our goal is to make surfing easy for them.

 

We are equipped with a beach wheelchair (also known as a « tiralo ») to make it easier for certain types of disabilities to get into the water. The Alaïa Bay building is easily accessible to people with reduced mobility (access ramp). A lift provides easy access to the restaurant and the terrace. The sanitary facilities (toilets and showers) are adapted for people with impaired mobility.

Alaia Bay - PARASURF 7

PARA SURFING AT ALAÏA BAY

Up to now, several Para Surfing sessions have been organised at Alaïa Bay. This desire to welcome people with disabilities has been initiated since the opening of Alaïa Bay in May 2021 by personal initiatives of our surf instructors. We wish to continue and perpetuate this approach which is close to our hearts and which echoes the mission that Alaïa has set itself.

 

Our instructor Simon Plachtzik also regularly organises sign language sessions in Swiss-German (DSGS).

 

If you would like more information about Para Surfing/Adaptive Surfing, please send an email to: parasports@alaia.ch

GUIDE DOG

Unfortunately, dogs are not allowed at Alaïa Bay. However, for people accompanied by a guide dog, access to the building (reception, store, restaurant, terrace) is authorized.

It will not be possible to access the pool area or changing rooms with the dog.There is a dedicated area where our four-legged friends can rest while surfing !

It’s important to bring someone with you to help you get dressed and move around. Our trained instructors will then take over and take care of the pedagogical and aquatic aspects. Please let our team know if you are coming with a dog. This will enable them to prepare to welcome you in the best possible conditions.

PRIX SOMMET UBS

We are very proud to participate this year in the Prix Sommet initiated by UBS. Since 1986, the Prix Sommet has been celebrating the dynamism, innovation, creativity and sustainability of Valais companies. As a challenger, we set ourselves the challenge of refining and sustaining the concept of inclusion by making action sports easier for people with disabilities. This challenge echoes our vision – to make action sports accessible to all (regardless of age and condition) and to share our passion with as many people as possible.

Vote for us during the live broadcast on Canal9 on 10 November at 8pm!

LOGO-PRIX-SOMMET

SECURE YOUR SESSION !

ALAÏA BAY IS ALSO ABOUT

TWIN FIN RESTAURANT

Located on the second floor of the facility, the Twin Fin has a surface of 300m2 and a terrace of 400m2 and gives the possibility to watch surfers in full action. Open 7/7 all year with free access, the food makes you travel from one continent to another while giving pride of place to Swiss products.

BOARDRIDERS SHOP

A world-class surf shop in the heart of the Alps. Alaïa Bay features a Boardriders Store with products from Quiksilver, ROXY and more along with a deep range of boards and hardware from the best surf manufacturers on the planet.

ANY QUESTIONS?

Check out our answers to the most frequently asked questions online!

This error message is only visible to WordPress admins

Error: API requests are being delayed. New posts will not be retrieved for at least 5 minutes.

STAY CONNECTED

Alaïa Bay Switzerland – Surf the Swiss Alps!

Alaia Bay_Parasurf

Para Surf / Handi Surf

C’EST QUOI LE PARA SURF ?

Le Para Surf (ou aussi appelé Handi Surf) est une forme de surf adaptée qui permet aux personnes en situation de handicap de surfer sur les vagues avec une planche de surf.

Le mot « Para » vient de paralympique.

Alaia Bay - PARASURF 2

LA VISION d’ALAÏA

Alaïa a la volonté de permettre la pratique du surf à toute personne, peu importe sa condition. Notre objectif est de transmettre notre passion du surf pour toute personne motivée à vouloir tenter l’expérience d’un sport d’action comme le surf et d’avoir du plaisir lors de la pratique.

Alaia Bay - PARASURF 3

ENCADREMENT

Une partie de l’équipe des moniteurs de surf d’Alaïa ont été spécialement formés pour permettre l’encadrement de la pratique du Para Surf. Lorsqu’un accueil Para Surf est organisé, une réunion préparatoire (appel téléphonique ou séance sur place) est organisée en amont de la session de surf (généralement entre 1 mois et 3 semaines à l’avance) pour identifier au mieux les challenges et comprendre les besoins particuliers que cela représente. En effet, l’objectif est de pouvoir anticiper et fournir une expérience inoubliable au Para Surfeur, ainsi qu’un encadrement au cas par cas selon la situation de chaque pratiquant.

Alaia Bay - PARASURF 4

INCLUSION

La démarche inclusive est également très importante pour nous. Selon le type de handicap, nous évaluons avec l’équipe des moniteurs de surf la faisabilité d’inclure, dans la mesure du possible, les Para Surfeurs avec les personnes valides tout en respectant au maximum les règles de sécurité.

Alaia Bay - PARASURF 5

L’AVANTAGE DE LA PISCINE A VAGUE

Le fait de pouvoir fournir un accueil Para Surf dans une piscine à vague est un réel avantage pour les Para Surfeurs. La piscine à vagues permet la pratique du surf dans un environnement sécurisé, délimité, sûr et contrôlé. En effet, nous avons la possibilité de maîtriser plusieurs paramètres (la taille des vagues, la fréquence et le nombre de vagues par session). Pour les Para Surfeurs débutants, elle permet un apprentissage facile dans les meilleures conditions avec des petites vagues constantes. Elle permet aussi aux pratiquants plus expérimentés de pouvoir progresser plus rapidement et de pouvoir s’entraîner de manière plus autonome que dans l’océan.

Alaia Bay - PARASURF 6

EQUIPEMENT & INFRASTRUCTURE

Selon le type de handicap, nous nous efforçons de fournir l’équipement Para Surf le mieux adapté pour que les Para Surfeurs puissent profiter de l’expérience du surf avec le plus grand confort et la plus grande sécurité possible. Notre but est que la pratique du surf soit rendue facile pour eux.

 

Nous sommes équipés d’un fauteuil roulant de plage (aussi appelé tiralo) pour faciliter la mise à l’eau de certains types de situation de handicap. Le bâtiment d’Alaïa Bay est facilement accessible aux personnes à mobilité réduite (rampe d’accès). Un ascenseur permet d’accéder facilement au restaurant et à la terrasse. Les sanitaires (toilettes et douches) sont adaptés aux personnes à mobilité réduite.

Alaia Bay - PARASURF 7

LES ACCUEILS PARA SURF à ALAÏA BAY

Jusqu’à ce jour, plusieurs accueils Para Surf ont été organisés à Alaïa Bay. Cette volonté de pouvoir accueillir des personnes en situation de handicap a été initiée depuis l’ouverture d’Alaïa Bay en mai 2021 par des initiatives personnelles de nos moniteurs de surf. Nous souhaitons continuer et pérenniser cette démarche qui nous tiens à cœur et qui fait écho à la mission qu’Alaïa s’est donné.

Des accueils en langue des signes en Suisse-Allemand (DSGS) sont aussi régulièrement organisés par notre moniteur Simon Plachtzik.

Si vous souhaitez de plus amples informations concernant les accueils Para Surf, merci d’envoyer un email à : parasports@alaia.ch

CHIENS GUIDE

Malheureusement les chiens sont interdits à Alaïa Bay. Cependant, pour les personnes accompagnées d’un chien guide, l’accès de celui-ci est autorisé dans l’enceinte du bâtiment (réception, magasin, restaurant, terrasse).

Il ne sera pas possible d’accéder aux abords du bassin ou dans les vestiaires avec le chien.Un espace est dédié afin de laisser notre ami à quatre pattes se reposer pendant la durée du surf !

Il est important que vous veniez accompagné d’une personne susceptible de vous aider à vous habiller et vous déplacer. Nos instructeurs formés prendront ensuite le relais et se chargeront de la partie pédagogie et aquatique. Merci de prévenir notre équipe de votre venue avec un chien. Celle-ci pourra ainsi se préparer pour vous accueillir dans les meilleures conditions.

PRIX SOMMET UBS

Nous sommes très fiers de participer cette année au Prix Sommet initié par UBS. Depuis 1986, le Prix Sommet célèbre le dynamisme, l’innovation, la créativité et la durabilité des entreprises valaisannes. En tant que challenger, nous nous sommes lancé le défi d’affiner et de pérenniser le concept d’inclusion en facilitant la pratique des sports d’action aux personnes en situation de handicap. Ce défi fait écho à notre vision – rendre les sports d’action accessible à tous (peu importe son âge et sa condition) et transmettre notre passion au plus grand nombre.

Votez pour nous lors de l’émission en direct qui aura lieu sur Canal9 le 10 Novembre à 20h !

LOGO-PRIX-SOMMET

RÉSERVE TA SESSION !

ALAÏA BAY C'EST AUSSI

Alaia Bay TwinFin Restaurant Interior

RESTAURANT TWIN FIN

Situé au premier étage du centre, le Twin Fin s’étend sur 300m2 de salle et 400m2 de terrasse et offre la possibilité d’admirer les surfeurs en pleine action avec vue plongeante sur le bassin. Ouvert 7/7 en continu, les mets vous feront voyager d’un continent à l’autre, tout en faisant la part belle aux produits suisses.

Alaia Bay Board Riders Surf Shop entrance

BOARDRIDERS SHOP

Un surf shop de 300m² en plein cœur des Alpes. Les marques emblématiques de surf comme Quiksilver et ROXY y proposent leurs dernières collections techniques et lifestyle. Alaïa Bay offre également un très large choix de matériel de surf avec les boards des meilleurs shapers au monde.

DES QUESTIONS?

Consultez nos réponses aux questions les plus fréquemment posées en ligne !

This error message is only visible to WordPress admins

Error: API requests are being delayed. New posts will not be retrieved for at least 5 minutes.

Alaia Bay Hashtag Surf The Alps

POUR NE RIEN MANQUER

Alaia Bay Sion – Surf The Swiss Alps!